The entire province of Iloilo is now under a state of calamity due to the adverse effects of the El Niño phenomenon.

The declaration of a state of calamity was approved by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) on Tuesday, May 14.

It was recommended by the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (PDRRMC) headed by Governor Arthur Defensor, Jr.

With the declaration, the provincial government can already use its quick response fund (QRF) to help those affected by El Niño.

Based on data from the PDRRMC, farmers in the province suffered more than P1 billion in losses due to El Niño.

As of May 13, 11 local government units (LGUs) declared a state of calamity. These are Sara, Estancia, Bingawan, Balasan, Dingle, Lemery, San Dionisio, Banate, Barotac Viejo, Ajuy, Mina, and Passi City.IMT